top of page

Thank you, Carleton.


As my time as a Raven (and a proud member of the G-Core) comes slowly dwindling down to an end, I wanted to take a few moments to reflect on what the past 4 years have meant to me, both as a hockey player and as a person.

I was fully prepared at twenty-one years old to admit that my playing days were done, and I couldn’t ever have expected to be given a new four-year lease on hockey, let alone all the amazing memories and people I got to experience along the way. I’ve always been a big believer in the fact that experience is a huge asset in life, and that the old anecdote “it’s not what you know, but who you know” rings true much more often than not. I’m beyond happy to say that being a member of the Ravens has given me rich experiences and relationships in droves.

Someone once told me, “never leave the game on a sour note” when talking about my decision at twenty-one to stop playing after some bad experiences. It didn’t register with me right away, but after a couple of months away from the game, the fire inside me was lit again. I missed the game and the people around it.

When I came to Carleton, it was essentially like playing with house money. Regardless of how much playing time I got or how our season went, I couldn’t lose. I was getting an education and playing the game I love again. Looking around the dressing room on day one at the talented and experienced players and coaching staff that surrounded me, I felt completely out of place. To this day, at twenty-six years old, I still look around and feel the same way. To be able to play alongside captains of major junior teams, NHL draft picks, memorial cup winners and participants, national team members... is something I’ve never taken for granted, not even for one day in these four years. I’ll forever be grateful for the way that this group of men accepted me and allowed me to be part of the team. Even to this day, as the current second oldest member of the team (to grandpa Browny), I still feel like a rookie. Wide-eyed, I went through my four years with an open heart and mind, and it helped me not to take a single day off or for granted. I believe that it’s due to of this perspective that I was able to fully enjoy every moment of my time here, and now do what I can to encourage others to do the same.

Hockey’s a funny sport in that there’s such a high turnover. You live amongst your 25 brothers for 7 months of the year, doing everything together (almost inescapably at times). Then one day it’s just over. Some graduate, some get “real” jobs, some go play professionally or go travel. But the team will never be assembled in the same way again. Because of this, though, I’m happy to say that I have brothers spread out all across the globe. The hockey community is certainly a small and special one. It’s almost unbelievable that you can run into someone you played junior with 7 or 8 years after the fact and pick up the conversation so effortlessly. Creating bonds like these are something that I’ll certainly miss most about the game, but I also realize that it’s this network and brotherhood that I will be able to lean on as a support system now, as well as later in life.

After the final buzzer sounded, I allowed myself to be sad for a few moments because I had to get off the rollercoaster. But then the pain suddenly subsided and turned to joy when I looked around the room and realized that somewhere in there were future co-workers, maybe even my boss (Chap), the guy that will do my taxes (Wecky), my travel partners, likely at least half of my bachelor party, and maybe even my future best man (anyone but Gus). Maybe one of the most beneficial aspects of being a part of a team like this is that I got the chance to look forward to waking up everyday and coming to the rink, only to start the day with a full hour of being surrounded by people I love, who love me, and who all pull in the same direction. I got to begin each day on a positive note, endlessly laughing and sharing stories and stupid jokes. We were critical of each other when we needed criticizing, and given freedom, flexibility and fun when we earned it. This has had a huge impact on me, and is a lesson that I won't soon forget.

Aside from other players, I was privileged to have such a dedicated and knowledgeable coaching staff (Marty, Vanner, Medsy, Cavy, Demps, Manley, Willy). Although budgets can at times be tight (seven-letter league, after all), we were always, without fail, given the preparation and equipment, along with tireless care from doctors (Doc T), therapists (Jill, Neiller, Nadine, Steiner) and trainers (Nick, Cristina, Alexei) that we needed. The dedication level of these people to their jobs is just as high as ours is to the sport. You simply can’t do that much work and put in those hours without absolutely loving it and having a passion for it. My positive experience at Carleton was shaped in huge part by all the staff throughout the years that made learning, training, and taking care of myself so effortless. I truly don’t know what I will do now without access to the cold medicine in the therapy room. Might actually have to go to Shoppers.

Hockey’s taken me all over the place. I’ve gotten to see 5 countries, playing and exploring in countless big cities and tiny hockey towns. After all of this and over twenty years in the game, I’m happy to say that I’m completely at peace with leaving. I’ve given hockey so much of myself, and I used to think that the only way it could give back would be with on-ice success. But that’s just the tip of the iceberg, as hockey’s provided me with so much more than that. It’s been my rock, given me my best friends, developed my character and resiliency, given me structure and taught me to be accountable. It took me a while to realize these things, and it certainly didn’t all happen at once, but it’s for all these reasons that I’m no longer on a sour note with it. If anything else comes of it, it’ll just be an added bonus to what has already been a truly unbelievable and unforgettable experience.

I couldn’t have asked for anything more from Carleton to cap off what has been such an unbelievable ride. To my fellow seniors, I wish you every ounce of luck in whatever path you choose to pursue, and I know from years of being alongside you that you’ll succeed in anything you try. The character in that group is outstanding. To the younger players just entering the program, or even a couple years in... cherish every moment. The sooner you realize that where you are is where you’re supposed to be, you’ll start having the time of your life and no day will ever feel like a chore. Take this outlook with you through life and use it to your advantage. Someday you too will have your ride end, and you want to make sure that it won't be on a sour note.

And remember, there’s no such thing as bad days at the rink. Not ever.

Love,

Jenks #31✌️❤️


bottom of page